Startseite / Programm / Performances / Norah Zuniga Shaw

ISEA2010 RUHR Performances
Synchronous Objects, reproduced

Fr 20–So 29 August 2010
Essen, PACT Zollverein
Kleine Bühne

Synchronous Objects, reproduced (2010)
Von Norah Zuniga Shaw in Zusammenarbeit mit:
Marc Ainger, Shawn Hove, Joshua Penrose, Julian Richter, Petra Roggel (Goethe ­Institut München), Benjamin Schroeder, Lily Skove, Stephen Turk

Basierend auf Originalmaterial von Synchronous Objects for One Flat Thing, reproduced (2009) von William Forsythe, Norah Zuniga Shaw, Maria Palazzi: http://synchronousobjects.osu.edu, einzusehen im PACT Café.

In Synchronous Objects, reproduced führt Norah Zuniga Shaw die Besucher in eine Begegnung mit den Tiefenstrukturen eines Tanzes und den darin enthaltenen generativen Ideen. Als eigens für die ISEA2010 RUHR entwickelte Weltpremiere bildet diese mehrteilige Installation eine räumliche und zeitliche Neufassung seines webbasierten Vorgängers Synchronous Objects, der von William Forsythe, Maria Palazzi und Zuniga Shaw am Advanced Computing Center for the Art and Design der Ohio State University geschaffen wurde. Ausgehend vom gefeierten Ensemblestück One Flat Thing, reproduced (2000) von Forsythe, enthüllt das Projekt durch Animationen, interaktive Grafiken und weitere parallele, virtuelle Manifestationen die verflochtenen Organisationsstrukturen des Tanzes. Im allgemeinen Verständnis wird Choreografie untrennbar mit Tanzen und Live-Performance verbunden. Die Installation wie auch das Bildschirm-basierte Original erweitern diese Sichtweise jedoch, indem sie fragen, wie körperliches Denken noch aussehen könnte.

Über die Künstlerin

Norah Zuniga Shaw (us)

Norah Zuniga Shaw lebt und arbeitet in den USA. Ihr Werk konzentriert sich auf choreografisches Wissen als Ort für interdisziplinäre und interkulturelle Kreativität. Synchronous Objects, ihr aktuellstes gemeinschaftliches Projekt mit William Forsythe und Maria Palazzi, wurde 2009 online und im Wexner Center for the Arts präsentiert. Nach der ISEA2010 RUHR zeigt Zuniga Shaw die Arbeit im Rahmen einer vom Goethe Institut organisierten Welttour. Sie kreiert weiterhin neue Installationen und Bühnenstücke und hält Vorträge über ihre Forschungsarbeit bei Veranstaltungen wie SIGGRAPH, Chicago Humanities Festival und Spring Dance Utrecht. Sie ist Leiterin des Bereichs Tanz und Technologie am Advanced Computing Center for the Arts and Design der Ohio State University.

Fr 20–So 29 August 2010
Essen, PACT Zollverein
Kleine Bühne

Lageplan Zollverein

Eintritt: € 5/3, Ticket auch gültig für die ISEA2010 RUHR Ausstellung.
Öffnungszeiten:
Fr 20 August 2010: 10-14 und 19-21 Uhr
Sa 21 August 2010: 10–16 und 19–21 Uhr
So 22 August 2010: 10–21 Uhr
Mo 23– So 29 August: 14–20 Uhr

Home / Programme / Performances / Norah Zuniga Shaw

ISEA2010 RUHR Performances
Synchronous Objects, reproduced

Fri 20–Sun 29 August 2010
PACT Zollverein, Essen
Small Stage

Synchronous Objects, reproduced (2010)
By Norah Zuniga Shaw in collaboration with:
Marc Ainger, Shawn Hove, Joshua Penrose, Julian Richter, Petra Roggel (Goethe ­Institute München), Benjamin Schroeder, Lily Skove, Stephen Turk

Based on original material from Synchronous Objects for One Flat Thing, reproduced (2009) by William Forsythe, Norah Zuniga Shaw, Maria Palazzi: http://synchronousobjects.osu.edu and on display in the PACT Café.

In Synchronous Objects, reproduced Norah Zuniga Shaw brings visitors into an encounter with the deep structures of a dance and the generative ideas contained within. A world premier developed for ISEA2010 RUHR, this multipart installation is a spatial and temporal re-imagining of its web-based antecedent, Synchronous Objects created by William Forsythe, Maria Palazzi and Zuniga-Shaw at The Ohio State University's Advanced Computing Center for the Arts and Design. Focusing on the celebrated ensemble piece One Flat Thing, reproduced (2000) choreographed by Forsythe, the project reveals the interlocking systems of organisation in the dance through animations, interactive graphics, and other parallel virtual manifestations. Choreography is commonly understood as inextricably linked to dancing and to live performance. But both the installation and the screen-based original start from an expanded view of choreography, asking, what else might physical thinking look like?

About the Artist

Norah Zuniga Shaw (us)

Norah Zuniga Shaw is an artist based in the U.S. whose work centers on choreographic knowledge as a locus for interdisciplinary and intercultural creativity. Synchronous Objects, her most recent collaborative project with William Forsythe and Maria Palazzi, was launched online and at the Wexner Center for the Arts in 2009 and featured in the N.Y. Times and Communication Arts. Zuniga Shaw is currently presenting on the work as part of a global tour produced by the Goethe Institute. She continues to create new installation and stage works and to lecture on her research at such venues as SIGGRAPH, Chicago Humanities Festival, Spring Dance Utrecht, Harvestworks, and Sadler¹s Wells. She is director for dance & technology at the Advanced Computing Center for the Arts and Design.

Fri 20–Sun 22 August 2010, 10:00–20:00h
PACT Zollverein, Essen
Small Stage
Map Zollverein



Admission: € 5/3, Ticket also valid for the ISEA2010 RUHR Exhibition
Opening Hours:
Fri 20 August 2010: 10-14:00h and 19:00-21:00h
Sa 21 August 2010: 10:00–16:00h and 19:00–21:00h
So 22 August 2010: 10:00–21:00h
Mo 23– So 29 August: 14–20 Uhr